BUY THE BOOK


      

      






    RUNAWAY HEIRESS



  • HarperCollins Publishers

  • Avon Impulse

  • ASIN: B075WNSL9V

  • ISBN: 9780062849670



RUNAWAY HEIRESS

Book One in the Dare to Defy Series


Victorian historical romances set in Cornwall about smart, feisty American heiresses who defy society's expectations to follow their dreams.

Read them as stand-alones, or enjoy the series!





To escape an arranged marriage, an American heiress poses as a governess in Cornwall ... and may end up exactly where she belongs.

Brainy and college-educated, American heiress Alexandra Atherton will do anything to avoid marriage to the English peer her mother has chosen for her--even abandon the life of privilege she's always known. But as her escape goes horribly wrong, Alexandra must invent a new identity to gain the help of a handsome stranger.

Thomas Carlyle, the Earl of Longford, sweeps in and out of London disguised as a humble artist, earning just enough to keep his ancestral Cornwall estate afloat. When Alexandra crashes into his life, she awakens feelings and desires that he vows will stay buried. Despite himself, he needs this beautiful newcomer, for his sisters have run off another governess.

Alexandra is surprised to find she thrives in her new position at Longford's home. But as she grows closer to Thomas and his sisters, and her relationship with the emotionally guarded earl unleashes their hidden passions, the truth Alexandra's been forced to hide may end up coming between her and the only man she's ever loved.




ACCOLADES & ACCLAIM

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen will be enchanted!" Austenprose.com

"A compelling and exhilarating romantic adventure that is sure to charm and engage readers and lovers of historical romance, full of simmering chemistry and wonderful homages to Jane Austen and the Brontës. I could not put it down!" Austenesque Reviews

"A fast-paced 'romp' through a historical Romance. I loved it! Swoonworthy romantic hero and completely entertaining. Look forward to the rest in the series." Vine Voice



JAPANESE EDITION

Don't miss books 2 and 3 in the
Dare to Defy Series

SUMMER OF SCANDAL

and

DUKE DARCY'S CASTLE